Busy Work

getting.dress3And I bought those canvases to create new work. As it is, even when I’m not busy, I’m still busy. At any given time, I have new artwork ideas just floating around in my head and there’s never enough time in the day; heck not even sometimes enough time in a year to complete any of them. So what do I do? I become very ambitious and start two series of paintings at once. In addition to the “CC 20/20” here’s a little something I’ve been working on called “Getting Dress.” 

“Getting Dress,” was something I started about 6 years ago. It was only recently, several good friends of mine really encouraged me to revisit that body of work. So I decided to add-on 12 more paintings to that series. These paintings are on the whimsical side. They take a cheeky look at the ritual of “waking up in the morning” and “going to bed at night.” I wanted to take a minimalistic approach to these paintings while adding a vintage look. To keep it simple, I kept to a limited color palette, made all the figures silhouette and used silk screening for the figures.

Here are the first 6 paintings out 12. I still need to do some tweaking here and there but they’re coming along nicely!!!

5984452538438805170

20140303_162747-120140303_173310-1

Leave a Reply

